≡ Menu

For Whom The Bread Rolls by Sarah Fox

For Whom The Bread Rolls by Sarah FoxFor Whom the Bread Rolls by Sarah Fox
Series: A Pancake House Mystery #2
Published by Penguin Random House on March 14th 2017
Genres: Cozy Mystery
Pages: 247
Source: Netgalley

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


From the author of The Crêpes of Wrath comes another decadent cozy mystery. This time, pancake house owner Marley McKinney is tangling with a salty troublemaker . . . and a ravenous killer.
Bonus content: includes original recipes inspired by the Flip Side Pancake House menu!
Tourist season’s in full swing in the small seaside town of Wildwood Cove, and Marley McKinney couldn’t be happier. Since taking over the Flip Side restaurant, she’s made a few close friends, adopted a cat named Flapjack, and started dating her childhood crush. The only cloud on the horizon is local nuisance Ida Winkler, who blames Marley for landing her nephew in prison. Trying to get a rise out of Marley, Ida’s been making crank calls and even vandalizing the pancake house.
The police can’t do much about the pranks, so Marley sets out to bury the hatchet once and for all. But someone’s beat her to it—in the most shocking way possible. After stumbling across Ida’s dead body, Marley’s suddenly the number-one suspect in her murder. Clearing her good name is going to be a tall order, but Marley’s not about to let Ida keep ruining her life—especially from beyond the grave.

Marley McKinney is living in Wildwood Cove after the death of her cousin Jimmy. Everything is going well she is running the pancake house, living in the house left to her, dating her childhood crush. Marley is happy until she has to deal with Ida an old disgruntled employee and the aunt of the guy who killed her uncle. Ida is causing trouble for the pancake house and Marley goes to talk to her to end it once and for all. When she gets to Ida’s house she finds her dead and winds up being the suspect in the murder. Marley must work hard to clear her own name.

In ” an Oyster Shell –  Another great installment of the Pancake house mysteries.

The Pearls – The small town setting is idyllic. It’s a great place to set a book. I love small town settings because you get familiar with all the characters in town. You get a feel for small town life. The author makes it feel like you are right there enjoying the festivities of the town.

The characters in this series are marvelous. Marley is a great heroine backed by some great supporting characters. There is Ivan her surly cook who is really a softy at heart and would do anything to make sure Marley is safe. There is the cat flapjack though not a human character a character all the same. This is just a small sample of the great characters this series has to offer.

The mystery is just as exciting and multi-faceted as the last book. The author has a knack for writing complicated yet entertaining plots. I like a mystery that surprises me and this one did.

The romance is sweet and kicked up a notch. It makes me look forward to future books because I can’t wait to see what happens between Marley and her Beau.

The Sand –It’s a great book!

4 Stars

About Sarah Fox

Sarah Fox, writer of cozy mysteries, was born and raised in Vancouver, British Columbia, where she developed a love for mysteries at a young age. When not writing novels or working as a legal writer she is often reading her way through a stack of books or spending time outdoors with her English Springer Spaniel.

Sarah is the author of the Music Lover’s Mysteries and The Pancake House Mysteries.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge