≡ Menu

Review – Don’t Get me Wrong by Marianne Kavanagh

Review – Don’t Get me Wrong by  Marianne KavanaghDon't Get Me Wrong: A Novel by Marianne Kavanagh
Published by Atria/Emily Bestler Books on August 25th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 336
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads
AmazonB&N

For fans of Jojo Moyes, David Nicholls, and Sophie Kinsella, here is a Pride and Prejudice for the modern era: Londoners Kim and Harry can’t see eye to eye…until the life of the person they both love most hangs in the balance.Kim and Harry are total opposites who happen to have the same favorite people in the world: Kim’s older sister, Eva, and her young son, Otis. Kim has never seen what her free-spirited big sister sees in a stuck-up banker like Harry and has spent her childhood trying to keep him out (must he always drive the most ostentatious cars and insist on charming everyone he meets?), while Harry’s favorite occupation is provoking Kim.Both Harry and Kim are too stuck in their prejudices to care about what’s really going on beneath the surface of each other’s lives. They’ll never understand each other—until the worst of all tragedy strikes. Faced with the possibilities of losing the person they both love most, long-buried secrets come to a head in ways that will change both Harry and Kim forever.As in her “hilarious, poignant, and profound” (Daily Mail) novel For Once in My Life, Marianne Kavanagh tackles the bonds of family, friendship, and love through sophisticated storytelling. Don’t Get Me Wrong is a witty and heartwarming book that will charm readers everywhere.

In an Oyster Shell – It’s a very different kind of read. I think it has a very proper English perspective that some Americans may find very dry. If you like that sort of thing go for it. It is not top on my list of books to recommend.

The Pearls – I was looking for a funny read as the description said and that’s not this book. Maybe it’s funny in a British way? I don’t know. I tried to keep an open mind that this book may be a bit beyond my cultural understanding.

No matter the culture there are some things that are universal, like unrequited love, love that won’t go away, even when you want it to. You really feel for Harry who is madly in love with a woman that hates him. It’s kind of sad. There is no real reason for it though there is one given in the end, I don’t understand it. Through it all Harry loves Kim. That made me stick through the story. I would conclude that Harry’s love for Kim is legendary. He loved her when she gave him no reason to… It’s hard to believe that love exists. I think it is rare, if not completely unrealistic.

The Sand –  The pacing of this story was extremely slow. I almost didn’t finish. I am glad I did because the love story is epic as I said before. I would not read it again. It was a one and done.

I give this book 3 pearls.

3 Stars

About Marianne Kavanagh

Marianne Kavanagh has worked on a number of UK magazines, including Woman, Tatler and the Telegraph’s Saturday magazine. She joined the launch team of Marie Claire, where she became deputy editor, before leaving to spend more time with her family. Since then, as a freelance editor and feature writer, Marianne has contributed to a wide variety of newspapers, magazines and websites, including the Telegraph, Mail, Guardian, Marie Claire, Easy Living, MyDaily and Red. She writes a weekly column, ‘Surviving Teenagers’, for the parenting site Parentdish. She lives in London.

{ 2 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge