≡ Menu

Blog Tour with Review – Breaking The Ice by Julie Cross

Blog Tour with Review – Breaking The Ice by Julie CrossBreaking the Ice by Julie Cross
Series: Juniper Falls,
on December 26th 2017
Pages: 300
Source: Chapter by Chapter

I received this book for free from Chapter by Chapter in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


The second book in the Juniper Falls series from NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Cross, perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally and Abbi Glines.

Haley Stevenson seems like she’s got it all together: cheer captain, “Princess” of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she’s struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she’s sworn them off completely until college.

Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He’s always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he’s finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner.

But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who’s ready to break all the rules.

Haley Stevenson is stuck in Civics class for the summer. She is struggling to keep her GPA up. Determined to succeed she asks Fletcher Scott to be her study partner. He is less than thrilled to be paired up with the Juniper Falls princess but agrees. Working with her opens up doors to get in with some of the Hockey players Fletcher’s first love. Haley is thrilled to work with Fletcher but wants to break through his walls and uncover his many secrets.

In an Oyster Shell –  It was a really good romance, I really like this series and can’t wait for it to continue.

The Pearls – I don’t like sports but I like sports novels. I really liked the first book in this series that features Hockey players so I gave this one a whirl. I was not disappointed. Fletcher is not your typical athlete and that made the story interesting.

Fletcher was a great character. He had lots of layers that the author expertly peeled back in the narrative. Haley was a good compliment to him and was a great component to uncovering the layers.

The romance was sweet. Taking the wallflower with the princess made for a classic storyline that I thoroughly enjoyed. I liked that Fletcher was a mystery that was fun to see unravel.

The Sand – It was a good book.

4 Pearls!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Julie Cross

Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, Timestorm (St. Martin’s Press).
She’s also the author of the Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, and many more to come!

Julie lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former Gymnastics Program Director with the YMCA.

She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and new adult genres.

Outside of her reading and writing cred, Julie Cross is a committed–but not talented–long distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge