≡ Menu

ARC Review – Under the Cherry Tree by Lilac Mills

ARC Review – Under the Cherry Tree by Lilac MillsUnder the Cherry Tree by Lilac Mills
Published by Lilac Tree Books on May 31st 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 331
Source: Author

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Goodreads
Amazon

“A feel-good, heart-warming, tear-jerking love story.”
The best sort of holiday read, recommended for fans of Jane Costello, Erica James, and Lucy James
“My dog didn't like men. Actually that was a lie – she didn't like the men I chose. The only ones who rocked her world had been my father (who was no longer with us), Ross (who was gay), and the butcher on the high street (for obvious reasons).”
When Jenni Meadows has the opportunity to expand her dog-grooming business she takes it, and when a nice man appears on her horizon but fails to make any sparks fly, she decides she has enough on her plate with her business without adding a boyfriend into the mix.
Besides, Millie doesn’t like him and when her dog doesn’t like a man, Jenni knows all about it. So why does Millie take a very strange liking to the new vet, especially since he has a taciturn expression, wears a wedding ring, and wields a needle?
Under the Cherry Tree is a tale of love and hope, waggy tails, and cold noses.

Jenni Meadows has a dog that doesn’t like most men. She likes her gay friend and her dad that has passed away but that’s it. When a man comes around often Millie doesn’t approve, she lets Jenni know about it. When Scott comes into the picture the Vet Millie loves him. Jenni can’t figure it out because Millie doesn’t like vets usually and he’s wearing a wedding ring. Jenni doesn’t have time for love anyways because she is expanding her dog grooming business. Will love find it’s way to her anyway? Will Millie approve?

In an Oyster Shell – A heart-warming, funny, thought-provoking romance.

The Pearls – Under the Cherry Tree is a touching story. The title is appropriate because Millie the dog falls in love with a cherry tree at the old farm Jenni is looking to buy. That tree becomes very symbolic in the story. I haven’t read anything by this author before as I believe this is her first book. I would read something from her again.

The plot was very interesting easy to engage with. How can you not like a story about a stubborn dog who doesn’t like the men her owner dates. It gets quite humorous how obstinate Millie gets when there are men around that she doesn’t like. It was a neat concept that was well executed.

Jenni dates three men total in the book and Millie only likes one of them. Jenni’s mom jokes that Millie will know which one is for Jenni. I liked that Jenni had to go through a couple of men to find the one she was meant to be with. The book wasn’t just about the main romance. It’s a nice change to usual romances.

The Sand – It’s a good book a mistake or two but it’s an ARC so it happens.

4 Pearls!

4 Stars

About Lilac Mills

Lilac spends all her time writing, or reading, or thinking about writing or reading, often to the detriment of her day job, her family, and the housework. She apologises to her employer and her loved ones, but the house will simply have to deal with it!

She calls Worcester home, though she would prefer to call somewhere hot and sunny home, somewhere with a beach and cocktails and endless opportunities for snoozing in the sun…

When she isn’t hunched over a computer or dreaming about foreign shores, she enjoys creating strange, inedible dishes in the kitchen, accusing her daughter of stealing (she meant to say “borrowing”) her clothes, and fighting with her husband over whose turn it is to empty the dishwasher.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge