≡ Menu

ARC Review – The Little Village Bakery Honeybourne Book 1 by Tilly Tennant

ARC Review – The Little Village Bakery Honeybourne Book 1 by Tilly TennantThe Little Village Bakery by Tilly Tennant
Published by Bookouture on June 15th 2016
Pages: 242
Source: Netgalley

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Goodreads
Amazon

Help yourself to a generous slice of Victoria sponge, a perfect cup of tea and a big dollop of romance. Welcome to the Little Village Bakery.
Meet Millie. Heartbreak has forced her to make a new start and when she arrives at the old bakery in the little village of Honeybourne she is determined that this will be her home sweet home. Her imagination has been captured by the tumbledown bakery but with no running water and dust everywhere, her cosy idea of making cakes in a rural idyll quickly crumbles.
Luckily the locals are a friendly bunch and step in to help Millie. One in particular, Dylan, a laid-back lothario, soon captures her attention.
But just as Millie is beginning to settle in, an unexpected visitor from her past suddenly turns up determined to ruin everything for her. It’s time for Millie to face the skeletons in her closet if she’s going to live the dream of running her little village bakery, and her blossoming romance with Dylan.
A charming heartwarming novel about love, life and new beginnings perfect for fans of Milly Johnson and Debbie Johnson.

Millie moves to Honeybourne with the hopes of new beginnings. She buys the town’s old bakery without ever having seen it. When she gets there she sees the repairs are more than her bank book can handle. Her neighbors get to know her and decide to rally around her to help get the bakery up and running.  Everything is going well until a woman from Millie’s past comes to town with the sole intention of ruining her. Will the town accept Millie despite her past?

In an Oyster Shell – This was a quaint story that lacked steady action but would make for an easy read.

The Pearls –  I am starting to love a good British novel. They are just so fun and full of humor. I enjoy learning new words and phrases. I loved the English setting that went  along with this novel.

I enjoyed the simplicity of the story. You could see it from the title to the cover to the end of the story.

This book had some fun subplots that made gave the book some depth. This was complimented by a great array of characters.

The Sand – My kindle read 50% into the novel before I really got hooked into it. It took a long time for the conflict to rise to a noticeable level of interest.

3.5 Pearls

3.5 Stars

About Tilly Tennant

Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop girl, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing, graduating in 2009 with first class honours. She wrote her first novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and has not stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance fiction editor, and considers herself very lucky that this enables her to read many wonderful books before the rest of the world gets them.

{ 3 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge