≡ Menu

ARC Review Hold Me Like a Breathe by Tiffany Schmidt

ARC Review Hold Me Like a Breathe by Tiffany SchmidtHold Me Like a Breath (Once Upon a Crime Family, #1) by Tiffany Schmidt
on May 19, 2015
Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 400
Source: Netgalley

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Goodreads
AmazonB&N

In Penelope Landlow's world, almost anything can be bought or sold. She's the daughter of one of the three crime families controlling the black market for organ transplants. Because of an autoimmune disorder that causes her to bruise easily, Penny is considered too "delicate" to handle the family business, or even to step foot outside their estate. All Penelope has ever wanted is independence-until she's suddenly thrust into the dangerous world all alone, forced to stay one step ahead of her family's enemies. As she struggles to survive the power plays of rival crime families, she learns dreams come with casualties, betrayal hurts worse than bruises, and there's nothing she won't risk for the people she loves. Perfect for fans of Holly Black and Kimberly Derting, this first book in the stunning new Once Upon a Crime Family series from acclaimed author Tiffany Schmidt will leave readers breathless.

In An Oyster Shell- This book was a coming of age story in light of bleak circumstances. It was well done and I recommend it to anyone who is looking for a heavy thought-provoking read. 

The Pearls – The title of this book was so fitting. The character is portrayed as fragile and in the end she’ll either break or she won’t. It’s totally worth following her on her journey. I felt this book was more YA crime fiction or what I like to call mob fiction. The most enticing thing that lured me to pick this book was the title. (And the cover had a butterfly) I’ll pick up just about anything that has a butterfly on it.

I thought the concept of this book was super interesting. I felt that it was executed very well. A sick girl in a mob family who has anything money can buy but not the thing she craves the most freedom and the respect of her family.

The writing was fairly solid and the plot was steady with the exception of a couple of lag spots. The characters were easy to follow, and it’s easy to care for Penelope, and easy to get frustrated with her family and hate their enemies.

The romance of this book was unexpected. You thought there was one love interest and then another one forms. I would tell you more than I would be giving away too much of the story. The theme of this book overall is overcoming all odds through perseverance and character strength. Overall this was an intriguing read that will keep you on your seat.
The Sand – The pacing of this book really lagged in the middle and through it off a bit. I feel like the author was trying to over-emphasize the relationship with the second boy. 

All in all I give this book 3.5 Pearls.

3.5 Stars

About Tiffany Schmidt

Tiffany Schmidt is the author of Send Me a Sign, Bright Before Sunrise, and Hold Me Like a Breath (Once Upon a Crime Family book 1).

She’s found her happily ever after in Pennsylvania with her saintly husband, impish twin boys, and a pair of mischievous puggles.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge